Things I Like To Do After Being Rejected

1. Smoke 1.5 cigarettes and then throw the pack away.

2. Eat one bag of M&M’s from the vending machine at my office.

3. Tell Billy about the incident so that he can start thinking of ways to make me feel better.

4. Clean my apartment (read: vacuum the hallway rug and then lay down).

5. Create something else that will make people love me.

 

I had this really funny thought a few years ago when I quit acting that quitting acting would make rejection less of a mainstay in my life.  Haha.  That was funny because I decided that what I’d do instead of acting was writing which is also full of constant rejection.  Haha.  LOL you guys.

That last point about making something that will make people love me – I feel like it’s a universal thing for performers and artists of all types.  That’s why we do these stupid things we do.  Because we were a little messed up as children and we seek validation from strangers so that we can feel better about ourselves.  Sweeping generalizations are also great ways to make friends and influence people.

Yuck, this day.  Let’s find something that will make me feel better, shall we?

That’ll do, pugoodles.  That’ll do.

Things I love about this picture:

1. Their Very Serious faces

2. That one guy’s flipped-over ear

3. Everything

9 Comments

Filed under Things

9 responses to “Things I Like To Do After Being Rejected

  1. Colleen

    I love it! I need to do a similar post someday. I should wait for another rejection to roll in though so that it will be fresh in my mind. 😛 I hear you on the M&Ms. And needing people to love me–I have this thing where I feel like if I’m not doing good enough with my life (read, “being perfect”) that people will not care about me anymore. And like other actors wouldn’t want to be my friend because I was a bad actor, or other writers won’t want to be my friend if I’m not a good writer. Insanity.

  2. The Internet

    Then again, if we didn’t suffer rejection nine times out of ten (or more) acceptance wouldn’t be so fucking sweet.
    Best regards, Mr. Cold Calling Sales guy

  3. Mommy

    I like the studded collars.
    And rejection reminds me that I’m still able to make the effort.

  4. Judy McManus

    You can make a baby…….. that will make a lot of people LOVE YOU!!!!!!

  5. Scriptor Obscura

    You expressed my thoughts exactly. As a writer myself, I couldn’t have said it better. Thank you so much for this post.

    We all want to be loved, validated, appreciated, and acknowledged by others. I think that is one of the basic needs of human beings. To know that some other person, whether they be a complete stranger or those in our inner circles, loves what we do and finds it as meaningful and fulfilling as we do is the greatest feeling in the world.

    By the way, here is a relevant song by Ingrid Michaelson that you might like:

  6. Can we have a rejection party sometime soon? I’m sending out stuff to agents and am feeling the burn.
    Of course, one of my professors liked to say that you live differently when you’re putting your work out there, no matter what the results. We’re living life to the fullest?

  7. Such a good song and so relevant!!! Thanks Scriptor.

  8. Marly

    My boyfriend, who is studying creative writing and has decided that that will be his thing from now until he dies, keeps saying that he is going to keep a folder of all his rejection letters. I tell him, “don’t think like that.” He says, “if I don’t have expectations then I won’t get disappointed.” This post made me think of that. He’s in constant fear that he won’t make it as a writer. I guess that is what we have to deal with as artists.

Leave a Reply

