Turn That March Sadness Into March Gladness (What? Basketball?)

You guys the weatherrrrrr.  Yuck.  It snowed last night in Boston.  There was a little snow on my car this morning.  Now, let’s be clear, this was not a big deal.  But I think we can all agree that we are very excited for springtime and that this snow is not helping us with our late winter/early spring sadfaces.  And also the world is falling the fuck apart.  No one can deny that.  Japan.  Libya!  I am so worried about Libya, you guys.  Let’s help them?  But also no more wars, okay?  And nobody’s even talking about Bahrain anymore – what is going on over there?!

I have been trying to find things to be happy about this week because the temperature is not going above forty degrees and jobs and homework and stuff.  So I decided this is such a week for desserts!  Last night I made rice pudding!  It was actually so easy.  It only has a handful of ingredients and if you are careful to not let your milk boil over (I was not careful enough) it’s kind of hard to fuck up.  It’s from Cooks Illustrated, which, again, you need to pay for, so I’m going to just tell you how I made it.

Sadness Into Gladness Rice Pudding

1 cup uncooked rice (I used basmati because that’s what I had)
2 cups water (to cook the rice, duh)
2 1/2 cups whole milk
2 1/2 cups half and half
2/3 cup sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract

It’s so easy I feel stupid even writing it in recipe form.  You basically make rice like you would for anything.  Boil water, put rice in, stir, cook until it absorbs the water (basmati goes really fast).  Then you add the milk, half and half, and sugar and you bring it to a boil (THIS IS WHERE I BOILED THE MILK OVER AND MADE A MESS – BE CAREFUL, YOU GUYS), then turn it down to keep it at a simmer.  Then they say you should simmer it for half an hour, stirring every few minutes, then turn it to a lower simmer for another fifteen minutes, then your spoon should stand up in the pudding.  I didn’t really keep track of what I did timing-wise so I just cooked it until it was cooked.  I don’t know.  Until it was pudding-like.  The spoon didn’t stand up.  Whatever.  Do you ever notice that recipes are ALWAYS SO WRONG about timing?!  They are.  Trust me.  Just look with your eyes and smell with your nose and use your brain and forget the timing in the recipe.  Anyway, once you simmer it for a long time and it’s pudding-like, you take it off the heat and add the vanilla and that’s basically it.  Put it in the fridge so chill.  Put plastic wrap right on top of the surface of the pudding to avoid the dreaded pudding skin (although I don’t really mind the skin – just mix it in and it disappears!) and when you serve it put some cinnamon on top!

Also, speaking of thinking about things that make me happy, I’m trying to find a new blog angle.  I’m no longer a receptionist and soon I will not even really be Treading Water anymore.  So for accuracy’s sake it needs to be updated.  It might just end up being EmilyKayeLazzaro.com which is kind of boring but at least not too confusing, but maybe not!  Maybe I need a new online identity?  In order to try to find my new online identity I made a list of things that I love, hoping that would send me in the right direction.  This is what I came up with (so far):

curly-haired dogs
ocean swimming
novels
lipstick
eight hours of sleep
garlic
daisies

What do we think?  Anything useful in there?  I told Billy about it and he responded “curlyhairedguys.com is already taken – gross.”

I’ll probably just go with Bloggin’ It Up: Weblog Style, though that is more of a subtitle…

Thoughts?

4 Comments

Filed under Things

4 responses to “Turn That March Sadness Into March Gladness (What? Basketball?)

  1. Mommy

    NO! Treading Water is great! We are all treading water, every day, every effort. Everyone can identify with Treading Water. Always striving. Or maybe you brand yourself as Constantly Craving. That’s a little more positive than Treading Water. But you might get a call from k.d.Lang’s people.

  2. receptionist

    Brand myself? Yuck.

  3. wil

    Garliclipstick.com is available, but actually I like Treading Water. If you change the name, what’s your fan club going to do with all the TW t-shirts, keychains, and mugs? 😉

  4. The Internet

    How about “Circling the drain”?

Leave a Reply

