As Promised Part 2

This pie recipe was passed down to me by my aunt Mary, the wife of my dad’s brother Tom.  The recipe had been passed to her by my grandmother, Jeannette, who passed away before I was born.  So Mary always brings this pie to family gatherings – all of them.  And it’s always my favorite dessert.  After a big meal I’m not a huge fan of chocolatey desserts.  I prefer fruity/creamy desserts at holidays.  And this is the epitome of fruity/creamy desserts.  I have imbued these pies with a lot of meaning because of the whole grandmother/passing down through generations/holiday dessert thing.  I’m making it this year for Billy’s family for Thanksgiving and last week I made two pies as a trial run to see if I did the recipe right or if there’s anything I want to tweak.  As of now, I would say these pies are fantastic and don’t really NEED any tweaking, though I might tweak anyway, just to make them my own.  Okay, without further ado, the blueberry cream pie:

Look how it shines in the light.  Nice.

Yes.

Mmhmm.

I made the blueberry one first because I remember liking it oh so much.  And it was good.  And it is gone now.  But then I made the cherry one and I realized that I think I like the cherry one better.  I think I like the tartness of the cherries more.  It adds a deliciously tart little kick.  So here are some photos of that:

Oof.

Nice.

Oh jeez with the cream.

Alright that’s enough.

RECIPE!

Stuff you need:
1 8oz containter plus 3oz of cream cheese
1 pint whipping cream
1 cup heavy cream (no I don’t know the difference between the two but the heavy cream seemed thicker for what it’s worth)
1.5 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups confectioners sugar (Auntie Mary said sift it but I don’t have a sifter so I didn’t and it turned out fine)
2 baked and COOLED pie crusts (Mary insists this is important and I’m inclined to agree – I baked mine and then put them in the fridge for an hour or so)
1 can blueberry pie filling
1 can cherry pie filling

Soften the cream cheese and then beat it in a bowl with the vanilla and sugar.  I actually (finally) used the Kitchenaid stand mixer we got for a wedding present and it was so great!  So if you have one of those use that, otherwise I guess an electric mixer works probably.  Put that aside, then whip together the whipping cream and heavy cream until it’s like whipped cream (duh).  I also used the stand mixer for this.  Had to set it on like level 8 for awhile to get the mixing going good enough to whip it (whip it good).  Then you fold the cream mixture into the cream cheese mixture until it’s homogenized.  You have to be kind of delicate lest the whipped stuff unwhips.

So you have your pie crusts.  I used Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts per Mary’s suggestion.  We’ve used these before for like quiches and stuff and they’re fine.  They’re not the most flavorful but they’re also not really the star of the show here.  The weird thing about them that I discovered is that they are super full of lard.  Like straight up.  So if that makes you feel weird (it makes me feel a little weird) I would suggest going to some Whole Foods or Harvest Co-op or equivalent and get some kind of vegetarian pie crust or just make your own with butter.  That’s one of the tweaks I’m considering.  This would also probably be really good with a graham cracker crust.  I’ll try that eventually.

Okay so you bake the pie crusts per the directions on the package and stick ’em in the fridge for awhile to make sure they’re super cool.  Then you pour the cream mixture in there and refrigerate the pies overnight.  You have two pies that are just cream at this point.  Just for fun, taste the spatula that’s covered in cream mixture.  Oh shit that tastes good, right!?!?

The next day, take the can of blueberry pie filling and spread it on top of one of the pies.  Samesies with the cherry pie filling.  Then you have two cream pies, one blueberry and one cherry.  Take it to your family on T-Gives.  Accept praise.

(That’s another thing I’m considering tweaking.  The pie fillings are really tasty and everything but they have like a ton of high fructose corn syrup in them, of course.  Ugh, this country and the corn subsidies.  Don’t get me started, am I right?!  So Billy’s offered to try just making a fruit topping with frozen fruit.  We’ll see how that goes.  Stay tuned for updates on future pie-making endeavors!)

4 Comments

Filed under Things

4 responses to “As Promised Part 2

  1. Judy McManus

    GOOD JOB EMILY!!!! I have made this pie, I think, twice since my mother passed. I figured I could not do it as good as her, so I don’t. I blame my mother for getting me hooked on cheesecakes coz before she ever made these pies I never touched the stuff. You can make a good blueberry topping with fresh or frozen berries, water, sugar and corn starch. Cooked of course. Your picturees are beautiful

  2. Mommy

    I remember these pies. You should definitely make your own crusts. I have a great recipe that I guess I never showed you how to make. Let’s do that next time you visit. And fresh fruit would be the real deal. Homage to Jeannette.

  3. Pingback: @#$%&*! pumpkin strings | Treading Water

  4. The Internet

    I watched a Rachel Ray show where she made a fruit thing for over ice cream, I bet you could use it here. Honey on the stove in a fry pan with pepper (!) and a cinnamon stick. Plop in fresh fruit like peaches and plums and stuff and cook them up. Put them on your cream pie!!

Leave a Reply

