The Possibilities Are Endless

Sometimes if I entertain the notion that something can be different it’s really hard for me to ignore it moving forward. “Maybe I could take a spinning class.”  “Maybe I’m not afraid of running.”  “Maybe the futon should go in the living room instead of the office.”  “Maybe I should cut off all my hair.”

Here’s a good example: when we were on our honeymoon in Italy I thought maybe I could eat red meat.  Just on vacation.  Because there aren’t really factory farms in Italy.  And Food Inc. was about America.   There are nice, happy cows and pigs in Europe.  I mean, I’m assuming this, yes. I don’t have the facts to back it up.  But we didn’t have internet in Italy so I couldn’t verify it and listen just LAY OFF ME.  Anyway, I thought to myself in Italy, “I could eat meat while I’m here.  I could do that.”  And then when I thought that once I couldn’t get it out of my head.  So I did.  I ate red meat.  Only while on vacation.  I ate prosciutto and speck and bresaola.  And it was delicious.  And I never thought I’d do it.  But I did.  This opens up doors, people.  Not meat doors.  That was strictly while on vacation, never again to be repeated (unless we join a CSA and meet the nice, happy animals that we will someday eat – circle of life and all that).  But it opens up doors to other possibilities.  Who knows what thoughts I’ll think in the coming weeks and months.  Who knows what drastic life changes I won’t be able to get out of my head.  I’m married now, I have a lot more time to think crazy thoughts.  And why not?  We’re free to do anything and everything now.  Everything and anything can change.

Also, this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Things

Leave a Reply

