e-hypochondria

We’ve all done it.  It’s an internet phenomenon.

I’ve just decided I definitely have Borderline Personality Disorder.  And am probably going to die.  Obvsies.

The word “borderline” makes this sound like it’s not a disorder at all, but just short of a disorder.  In fact, it refers to being on the borderline of full-blown psychosis.  So one is not quite psychotic.  But almost.

I’m realizing this is really disrespectful of people who actually are diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder, but it’s for an effect, please don’t send me an angry email or sign up for wordpress specifically so you can start a blog about how bigoted and cruel I am like that lady that signed up for Yelp to tell me I was racist for not liking Colombian food.

Anyway, hear me out.  I do have a few of the symptoms.  Such as:

1.  “While a person with depression or bipolar disorder typically endures the same mood for weeks, a person with BPD may experience intense bouts of anger, depression, and anxiety that may last only hours, or at most a day.”

I have crazy mood swings!  One minute I’m fine, next minute I’m crying/yelling.  Thought it was PMS, but maybe I am almost psychotic?

2.  “Sometimes people with BPD view themselves as fundamentally bad, or unworthy.  They may feel unfairly misunderstood or mistreated, bored, empty, and have little idea who they are. Such symptoms are most acute when people with BPD feel isolated and lacking in social support, and may result in frantic efforts to avoid being alone.”

I feel bad about myself sometimes.  People are mean to me sometimes.  I get bored and lonely sometimes.  SOMEBODY GET ME TO A PSYCHIATRIC WARD.

3.  “Even with family members, individuals with BPD are highly sensitive to rejection, reacting with anger and distress to such mild separations as a vacation, a business trip, or a sudden change in plans.”

This one is the most worrying.  I actually really react badly to changes in plans.  I’m like a toddler in that way.  I’m a creature of routine.  Somebody get a straitjacket and some Lithium.

I joke because I am actually a little worried I have this disorder.

I don’t.  Right?

RIGHT?!

One good thing is that other symptoms of BPD are substance abuse, suicide attempts, cutting yourself, that kind of stuff.  Fortunately I don’t think I fall into those categories.  It’s probably more that I just have a lot of feelings.


1 Comment

Filed under Things

One response to “e-hypochondria

  1. The Internet

    I like the way the hands and camera reflect in the sunglass lense in your banner

Leave a Reply

