Day Care

Phone rings

Me:  College of Fine Arts

Phone Lady:  Hello I have some questions about your Doctoral programs in music.

Me:  Ok, what are you questions?  Maybe I can help you.

Phone Lady:  When is the deadline for the application?

Me:  January 15th

Phone Lady:  What sort of TA-ships or financial aid do you offer?

Me:  I can transfer you to our financial aid officer for that question.

Phone Lady:  Ok, I just have a few more questions.

Me:  Ok.

Phone Lady:  Do you offer medical insurance for students?

Me:  Yes, our financial aid officer can also help you with questions about that.

Phone Lady:  Ok.  How about day care for students with families?

Me:  I don’t think we offer anything like that.

Phone Lady:  You should.

Me:  Um… yes, probably, you’re right.

Phone Lady:  Lots of places do.

Me:  Ok.

Phone Lady:  MIT does.

Long pause.

Me:  Sorry.  We just…

Phone Lady:  People have families.

Longer pause.

Me:  It’s not up to me.  I just answer the phone.

Phone Lady:  Ok.  Can I speak with the financial aid officer?

Me:  Sure.

I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHAT TO SAY TO YOU, CRAZY PHONE LADY!  IF MIT JUMPED OFF A BRIDGE WOULD I HAVE TO JUMP OFF A BRIDGE, TOO?

Leave a comment

Filed under Quickie

Leave a Reply

