Old People: Way More Upsetting In Real Life

My friend Anna and I discovered recently that we both justify our own actions and circumstances by comparing our lives to the lives of fictional television and movie characters.  Anna uses How I Met Your Mother and I, most recently, have been using My Big Fat Greek Wedding.  You know how there’s that batty old grandmother character who comes to live with them?  She dresses like a nun kind of.  And she thinks the Turks are after her.  And in that movie it’s funny.  What is less funny is when my own grandfather sends me a Christmas card and signs it “Uncle Vic and Aunt Sally” where it should say Dziadzi (Polish for Grandpa) and Nana.  Not that it’s a huge deal.  You know, people get old, they forget stuff, it’s the way the world works.  But in My Big Fat Greek Wedding nobody seems to be bothered that Grandma is running off and turning up in the neighbor’s garden shouting about Turks.  It’s just funny.  There’s not much funny about it in real life.  Although when I saw him he seemed to remember me quite well.  But he’s going through a rough time.  His sister just died.  When he found that out he went for a walk and slipped on some ice and broke his foot in two places.  Merry Christmas!  It’s always something.  But it does make me feel better to think of what a long and relatively happy life he’s had up to this point.  This is what happens to people.  It’s a part of living.

Christmas was a whirlwind this year.  I’m shocked we made it.  Aside from a few small meltdowns (mostly related to traffic) Billy and I managed not to lose our minds.  And now we’re one day away from The Big Trip To Antigua.  It’s my college graduation present from my mom.  She’s flying all of us out there and she got us hotel rooms and a dinner reservation for New Year’s Eve.  It will be nice to get out of Boston.

Now I must prepare myself mentally and emotionally for dropping Oscar off at our friend’s house for the week that we are away.  Getting him into the cat carrier should be awesome.

Also, I’m reading Twilight and it is destroying my will to do anything else.  This book is crack-cocaine in book form.  I began to understand Billy a bit better when he explained to me that the way I feel about this book is the way he feels about all video games all the time.  I had no idea.  That poor boy.  It must be agony.

2 Comments

Filed under Things

2 responses to “Old People: Way More Upsetting In Real Life

  1. Billy

    Yeah! I don’t necessarily want to play videogames all the time, I just HAVE to.

  2. Anna

    Oscar is ruling the roost at Dereck’s; I saw him when I stayed there and we had many good cuddle/ he may have hissed at me out of excitement. He’s a champ!

    Also, this entry is very true to me for lots of reasons. I feel also that David Sedaris strikes a nice balance between real life/ My Big Fat Greek Wedding in his essay “Get Your Ya-Yas Out!” which is, I think, in Me Talk Pretty One Day. But I could be wrong about that. It’s about his crazy old Greek grandma. Read it!

Leave a Reply

