I Cry When I Overexert Myself

Billy and I moved this weekend. Or, we started moving. Moving is awful. It is really, really stressful and bad. And I know that I was the one who wanted to move. I know that. But I have very poor upper body strength. Underdeveloped, flabby arms. Biceps? No. Not at all.

So let me tell you a story. Once upon a time there was a princess. This princess’ magical kingdom was a little overcrowded and kind of stinky and really, really dusty. But it was still a magical kingdom, mind you. Just, not the best possible magical kingdom. But the princess’ rent at this magical kingdom was really low. So some could argue that she didn’t appreciate what she had. But such practical matters are not important to princesses. Princesses want what they want and they want it as soon as possible! So the princess decided she needed a new magical kingdom. She spent months (months I say!) going on the internet and searching CraigsList for a new magical kingdom. She found one that was way less crowded and way less dusty and it didn’t stink even a little. Then she had to move.

I could go on with this weird metaphor thing, but I’m getting kind of bored with it.

The bottom line is this: I wanted to move but when the time for moving came I complained. A lot. And there was some crying.

A rundown of the crying:

1.) While trying to move a bookcase down the stairs with Billy

2.) After climbing the three flights of stairs maybe 15 times, from exhaustion

3.) In the bathroom after getting to the new apartment, I forget why

4.) While moving the washing machine up the stairs of the new apartment

5.) After Billy accidentally threw a really large couch at me and it hit me in the neck and scraped my shoulder

That being said, the move wasn’t really all that bad. We’re almost all moved in now. Will and Steph came over last night to bring us spaghetti and meatballs and we couldn’t find forks so we had to use chopsticks. I don’t know why we were able to find the chopsticks and not the forks. Just one of life’s little mysteries.

But the apartment is BEAUTIFUL. It’s a place to stay for awhile.

2 Comments

Filed under Things

2 responses to “I Cry When I Overexert Myself

  1. billy threw a couch at you? what a monster! šŸ™‚

  2. receptionist

    Well, to be fair, the couch was wedged into the door frame and he had to shove it pretty hard to get it unwedged, and he did count off, but I didn’t hear him.

    Also, Dana reminded me why I cried in the bathroom at the new apartment. It was because I had hit my head on the car. It hurt a little, but mostly I cried because I felt stupid.

Leave a Reply

